Skip to main content

Flavours Live preview stops updating while creating themes.

Comments

22 comments

  • Nuno

    Hi Allan,

    Again thank you for getting back, and with so much details. This is really important and helpful!

    I spent all morning around the Flavours editor, finishing the "Bluke" theme, and actually have been hit by the issue. However:

    • I'm almost 100% sure that this issue happens AFTER clicking the Save button (or finish);
    • Hitting save when the editor is in this "strange" state, does actually safely saves the theme;
    • Restarting Flavours is sufficient to have the issue gone

    This may be related with the recent fix of the rare issue of progress indicator being incorrectly drawn on some thumbnails - this was the only change introduced on the editor on this last 2 Flavours updates.

    I will look further into this... I apologize for the inconvenience!

    Thank you for your report, once again. Ah! And congrats for your recent theme creations, really beautiful by the way :)

    Nuno

    0
  • Allan Nyholm Nielsen

    Thank you for commenting.

    I'm not in agreement with the statement that it happens after clicking save. It can happen just by switching between elements in the editor during a normal workflow. I've had it happen just recently when I created the "Spring" theme.

    I can sit and watch it for a while then decide to jump in and create a theme and after without even clicking save for a good amount of time then the issue arises.

    It's easy to get back by quitting Flavours as you say.

    I'm having a blast creating themes - and it's great that the QuickLook preview still gives me a preview of the changes I've done when the editor grinds to a halt.

    And thank you very much for the kind words about my themes. It warms.

    -Allan 

    0
  • Nuno

    Hi Allan!

    I have just made available a build that potentially fixes the issue - it's completely stable (basically, 1.1.8 + this fix). Could you please download and use it for your creations? I was not able to reproduce the issue anymore, but it was not easily reproducible on my side...

    http://flavours-updates.interacto.net/Flavours_1.1.9b1.dmg

    After some time of testing, please let me know how it went! 

    Thank you in advance and happy theming,

    Nuno

    0
  • Allan Nyholm Nielsen

    So all is well in Flavours land except that I have some issues with the live updating of elements in the the actual editor.

    Forgive me for this next video where I demonstrate the issue. I may fail totally at editing a theme so if everything appears all right then say so :)

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/l424dczjx3k1ynb/flavours.mov

    What you actually see is me trying to smart layer something - it appears as though the Smart Layer function is defunct. I try and circle while I edit a theme.

    Just after writing this I can no longer get Smart Layers to work at all in the Controls section.

    0
  • Nuno

    Hi Allan!

    Thank you again for your feedback!

    So, if I understood correctly, until now the initial issue didn't appear (yet!).

    Now regarding the second issue, I think there are some UI updating issues there:

    • the preview on the Inspector seems to be delayed (this is particularly noticed on the first seconds of the video when you switch Active -> Pressed -> Active again (on this last switch, the preview gets fine)!
    • the inspector itself is having some trouble identifying the state you're on (the dimmed icon is not always the one who as the arrow - on the top)
    • Smart Layer stops working probably because it appears there is some "mess" on the update notifications (for re-drawing) there.

    There may be some other issues as well - must do some testing here. Do you know if there is anything unusual on the logs?

     

    Thank you for identifying and providing a video of it!

    Best regards,

    Nuno

    0
  • Nuno

    Having great difficulty in reproducing the Inspector update issue with Smart Layers. Do your remember anything that could have triggered this behaviour? Flavours detects cross-linking Smart Layers (e.g., on Normal, smart layer to Active; on Active, smart layer to Normal) so this is not the case also....

    0
  • Allan Nyholm Nielsen

    Hi,

    Yeah a few errors pops up in the console

    Below I have only just copied them in.

    16/02/14 15:45:05,214 Flavours[2224]: CFPropertyListCreateFromXMLData(): Old-style plist parser: missing semicolon in dictionary on line 1216. Parsing will be abandoned. Break on _CFPropertyListMissingSemicolon to debug.
    16/02/14 15:45:05,358 Flavours[2224]: Flavours(2224,0x10e876000) malloc: *** auto malloc[2224]: error: GC operation on unregistered thread. Thread registered implicitly. Break on auto_zone_thread_registration_error() to debug.
    16/02/14 15:45:09,785 Flavours[2224]: The class 'NSTextFieldCell' overrides the method setIdentifier:. This method is implemented by class 'NSCell'
    16/02/14 15:45:13,080 Flavours[2224]: The function `CGContextClear' is obsolete and will be removed in an upcoming update. Unfortunately, this application, or a library it uses, is using this obsolete function, and is thereby contributing to an overall degradation of system performance.
    16/02/14 15:45:27,443 Flavours[2224]: The class 'HUDTextFieldCell' overrides the method setIdentifier:. This method is implemented by class 'NSCell'

     

    And lastly just recently:

    16/02/14 15:56:11,287 Flavours[2224]: The class 'FI_TTaggingTokenFieldCell' overrides the method setIdentifier:. This method is implemented by class 'NSCell'
    16/02/14 15:56:11,288 Flavours[2224]: The class 'NSTableHeaderCell' overrides the method setIdentifier:. This method is implemented by class 'NSCell'
    16/02/14 15:56:11,288 Flavours[2224]: The class 'FI_TIconAndTextCell' overrides the method setIdentifier:. This method is implemented by class 'NSCell'
    16/02/14 15:56:11,334 Flavours[2224]: The class 'SGTSearchFieldCell' overrides the method setIdentifier:. This method is implemented by class 'NSCell'
    16/02/14 15:56:11,481 Flavours[2224]: The class 'FI_TColumnCell' overrides the method setIdentifier:. This method is implemented by class 'NSCell'
    16/02/14 15:56:13,441 Flavours[2224]: The class 'FI_TTextCell' overrides the method setIdentifier:. This method is implemented by class 'NSCell'

     

    Apparently nothing in the Console at the time of the video. You can see the timestamps for the others.

    0
  • Nuno

    Oh... interesting! On the last bunch of logs, most of the logged classes are not from Flavours, which suggests that it is being injected from other 3rd party software - it is not clear whether or not is is related with this issue. 
    A quick google search pointed me to this site: http://vladalexa.com - do you use any software from there (Magic Prefs, Magic Numpad,...)? If so, I would like to install it! :)

    0
  • Allan Nyholm Nielsen

    That's interesting for me too since I haven't installed any of them. I am being aware of my Magic Trackpad going in and out - the Bluetooth connecting is failing.

    I'll turn the trackpad off in the meantime and try and tinker some more - but really all I have is OS X with Java and Flash Player installed as the only preferencepanes.  I could suspect Scroll Reverser for being a culprit here if you think it might interfer with Flavours operation I'll disable it. 

     

     

    0
  • Nuno

    Thank you for the update!

    Not telling that it is the cause, neither that you shouldn't have any kind of software installed (please don't get me wrong:)) - just trying to find the cause - everything is fixable;)

    I will try the Scroll Reverser too and check if it related. I am still unable to reproduce the issue, but from what I saw in the video, I don't believe Scroll Reverser could be related....

    Is the theme on the video already published? Probably I should try to reproduce it on the same theme as you - maybe it's easier!

    0
  • Allan Nyholm Nielsen

    It's not published yet. Where can I send it? Just upload it as .flavour to dropbox or similar?

    I have to say here - that admit to using external graphics on the window controls . I doubt it should have influence on the editor. But you can have the theme for testing.

    0
  • Nuno

    Hi Allan!

    Thanks! Your .flavour file should be at ~/Library/Application Support/Flavours/My Flavours . If you sort the Finder by modification date you should be able to identify it!

    You can attach the file here or, If you wish to not make it public, you can send it to support@interacto.net !

    Sometimes, some issues are better reproducible when recreating the same conditions, and having the same flavour will definitively help!

    Thank you!

    0
  • Nuno

    I have been playing with your flavour but have been unlucky in reproducing the issue... :(

    If you start from zero (launch Flavours, go to Editor), do you know what steps are needed to reproduce the issue on your side?

    0
  • Allan Nyholm Nielsen

    I'm finding it hard right now to reproduce - despite my attempts. I've turned off the Magic Trackpad because it was funky anyways. I'll report back if I do get in the same cycle again. Thanks so far.

    0
  • Nuno

    I'm the one who thanks!

    0
  • Allan Nyholm Nielsen

    Hold on a minute... While I was typing that entry I went back to Flavours and found that it had locked itself up - meaning hanging and very slow to respond.

    The video is live.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/bhroztgwhfkpuj2/flavours%20hangs.mov

     

    I'm not sure what's going on - could be the computer itself but I have plenty of cpu cycles to spare and much RAM and so forth.

    0
  • Allan Nyholm Nielsen

    Flavours is not giving me any grief so far.

    If I'm lucky then all I had to do was disable Bluetooth for a while - reboot - then turn on Bluetooth again. My trackpad is behaving again with no dropouts.

     

    0
  • Nuno

    Hi Allan,

    Those are good news!

    I hope the issue does not come back, but if it does, please get back to us again! One more thing, if it comes back - and if Bluetooth is really related - it should affect other applications as well (at least, apps that make intensive use of graphics/mouse events processing) - maybe you could open one or other and check if this is a system-wide issue, or an issue only affecting Flavours?

    Again, thank you, and keep up with your good work!

    Happy theming,

    Nuno 

    0
  • Allan Nyholm Nielsen

    I have a minor update to the situation which is that while making a new theme this morning I found that while I have both color palettes and the gradient palette open I can't operate properly. I can run Flavours forever it seems like but as soon as both color and gradient palettes show up that when Flavours halts. That's my new gained experience - It hadn't really occured to me before.

    And what's more is that the live preview seems to be functioning still because pressing a couple of elements within the preview you'll see the progress bar(the Cooking part) move as each element is pressed down, except for some things like switching from active to inactive window state - the window controls will trigger the Cooking-bar for each time one window control is pressed.

    At this point it doesn't matter whether I close up the palettes or not. It's done with. I of course made a video of what I just described but I think my description in words is good enough - although the video is more for the visuel orientated.

    I'm sorry that I can't quite catch the moment on "tape" because it seems like random to the point where I can doodle around for 30 minutes with palettes open and some other time it's not quite that long og longer still. 

    I'm also at this point assuming that it's more palette related since I've not experienced it more than once while trying to find a color or gradient while working on a theme.

    You say you've had it happen once but it never occured again. Did you also at the time have both palette windows open?

     

    0
  • Nuno

    Hi Allan,

    Thank you for your update!

    Unfortunately, I am being unable to reproduce this issue :( It's sad when we know there's an issue somewhere and we continue to be unsuccessful in finding the right/correct steps to reproduce it. I will spend more time today playing with the editor to see if I'm lucky reproducing the issue.

    This is probably unrelated, but on the initial versions of Flavours, we had an issue that occurred when we added an Image Layer but didn't select/browse the image - there were trouble when drawing the non-existent image to the point that all the Flavours UI becomes strange updating (much like what you describe). So I wonder if there is some "unpredictable" value on the layer fields (like no image, 0px stroke, etc)?

    Thank you for your patience and help!

    Nuno

    0
  • Allan Nyholm Nielsen

    I must say that the latest version of Flavours (1.1.9) really did the trick for me as far as the hanging of the live window. I've gone through a whole session today without as much as a hiccup. thanks. 

    0
  • Nuno

    Hi Allan!

    We did work on some code that I was hoping could fix this issue, and I was going to write here questioning if there were any progress! You're faster and with a good answer :) Excellent!!

    Please let me know if the issue comes back!

     

    Thank you and happy theming!

    Nuno

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk